top of page
Search
  • Drew

Why Breakfast is the Best Meal

It's been debate for as long as food has existed (hint, that would be forever). What is the best meal? Frankly, I don't understand how it's even remotely a conversation, let alone a full bridled debate. The answer is very clearly breakfast. Don't believe me? That's fine, I respect everyone's opinion. However, in this case, your opinion would be WRONG. Allow me to convince you.


I can't begin to count the number of times I've heard someone complain about halfway through the day that they're feeling tired and low on energy. "Why is that?" I often ask. More times than not the response I get is "Well, I didn't have any breakfast this morning." It's very difficult for me to wrap my head around the fact that someone could simply forget breakfast. What I find horrifying is the number people that follow up by saying they never eat breakfast. Forgetting breakfast is one thing. But intentionally depriving yourself of the wonderfulness that is a well-balanced, delicious breakfast? Now that I cannot stand for. Breakfast is the best way to start the day for a number of reasons. First of all, you are providing your body with much needed sustenance and energy to start your day. That way you don't hit the proverbial wall come the afternoon. It's also a fantastic way to start your day with something productive. There are many days where you have a full slate of meetings, projects, and errands but with practically no motivation. Something simple to get you started on the right foot is to make yourself a tasty breakfast. Productive AND delicious? Talk about killing two birds with one stone!


Another excuse I often hear is that people simply don't have time in the morning to eat breakfast. I'm sorry, I didn't realize having breakfast required an apron, chef's hat, and a full hour! All joking aside, I understand you might not always have the time or energy to make a full meal consisting of bacon, eggs, hash browns, and the like. However, you can still get your breakfast fix from a number of easy and convenient options. Just off the top of my head you have cereal, poptarts, donuts, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, and so on. Breakfast doesn't need to an elaborate meal. It's not pompous like that. Breakfast is there for you in any form you need it.


Another great thing about breakfast is its versatility and expansiveness. I think there's a misconception about breakfast in that's it's the most limited of the three primary meals. That's just simply not true. There's truly something for everyone. You want something savory and hearty? Try some eggs, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, bacon, or sausage. What about something sweet? Donuts, cinnamon rolls, toaster strudels, and monkey bread are there to whet your appetite. What if you want to just drown something in syrup? Look no further than pancakes, waffles, or french toast. You might be in the mood for something on the healthier side. For that you have breakfast quesadillas and omelets. And I can't possibly forget to mention one of my personal favorites - the bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich. A good breakfast is also more than just the food. You can't forget about the drinks at your disposal. There's coffee, milk, orange juice, apple juice, and tea. That's not to mention the fact that we've also found a way to incorporate alcohol into the equation with Bloody Marys and mimosas.


There really is something there for everyone. But breakfast goes beyond the food on the table. In many cases, it's more about the people sitting across the table. For as much as I love breakfast foods of all kinds, the real reason it's so important to me is because of the relationships that have been built over a shared morning meal. Holiday breakfasts with my family is one of our longest lasting traditions. It's not uncommon for me to reconnect with old friends over breakfast at a local diner. The best is making breakfast right alongside friends and family.


I could go on and on about why I believe (nay, know) breakfast is the superior meal. However, I will spare you, because I'm afraid if I haven't convinced you up this point then you are a lost cause. Regardless, I hope this post reminded you of some of your favorite memories revolving around breakfast and inspired you to cook up something new tomorrow morning. Thanks for following along!

32 views0 comments
bottom of page